Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (1082) - TV Shows (24)

John Wick: Chapter Two review

Posted : 1 month, 2 weeks ago on 5 June 2017 02:21 (A review of John Wick: Chapter Two)

Notes:
*I had a friend who watched this ten times! He said it was that good.
*I didn't have the time to go and check for myself so I waited patiently.
*It's awesome that Laurence Fishburne and Keanu Reeves reunited for this.
*Chad Stahelski also directed the first one with writer Derek Kolstad.
*I always love it when the writer and director stay together for the sequels.

Pros:
*The freaking fight scenes!
*Ruby Rose!
*John Wick.
*That ending.
*Room for an amazing part three
*The sheer brutality.

Cons:
*Morpheus didn't fight Neo.

This was so much fun and I clearly see why my friend saw it 10 times in theaters. The action is incredible and brutal. John Wick is a machine. The villains were interesting. If you don't enjoy this then I don't know what to tell you. It's a pure adrenaline rush from start to finish.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Alien: Covenant review

Posted : 1 month, 2 weeks ago on 5 June 2017 02:09 (A review of Alien: Covenant)

Notes:
*The trailer looked amazing and thrilling!
*I liked the little shorts leading up to this and they were a good publicity stunt to keep people curious about what would be coming.
*If you don't know who Ridley Scott is before watching this I can't help you lol.
*Jack Paglen also did Transcendence which was an interesting watch.
*Michael Green is known for Green Lantern (unfortunate) and Logan (amazing).
*John Logan worked on Gladiator and Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street.
*This marks the first film for writer Dante Harper.

Pros:
*Michael Fassbender was amazing.
*Danny McBride played serious pretty well.
*The neomorphs were brutally awesome.
*Callie Hernandez nuff said lol.
*There was a moment that reminded me of Joss Whedon's beautiful butterfly moment from part four I believe.
*It has enough of Prometheus and the Alien connection to be a nice sum of both.
*The ending makes you really want to see what they in store for part three.

Cons:
*The twist was quite obvious.
*The deaths were a little too quick and bunched together.
*Some of the characters were a bit too dumb.
*It had it's share of plot holes.
*It wasn't scary like it was advertised.

It has it's errors, but I had too much fun to really care too much about them. I just wanted to see aliens and carnage. That's what I got and I am a happy camper. It could have been a bit better if made scarier and with the deaths more spread out. Still it's definitely worth watching if you are a fan. If you didn't like Prometheus you will probably still be kind of disappointed though.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 review

Posted : 1 month, 2 weeks ago on 3 June 2017 02:36 (A review of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2)

Pros:
*The characters obviously!
*Baby Groot is adorable!
*Yondu is more important this time.
*It's freaking hilarious!
*There were some pretty awesome cameos.
*The gamer style the bad guys use for their fighters.
*The after/during credits scenes.
*This was an excellent follow up to the first one.

Cons:
*The music doesn't live up to the first one.
*The story wasn't what I was expecting.
*There were some pretty depressing moments here and there.
*Drax needs more to do than he gets.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Lighthouse of the Whales review

Posted : 1 month, 2 weeks ago on 3 June 2017 02:07 (A review of The Lighthouse of the Whales)

Netflix is the source of discovery with films like this. I had no idea what to expect and I didn't even know this was actually a remake as well with a slightly altered title. I've never heard of Gerardo Olivares or any of his work before this. The same goes for writers Lucia Puenzo and Sallua Sehk. So this was pretty remarkable. It's a beautiful story. The characters are wonderful and unique. The acting is incredible. I loved the whales and how they weren't treated like absolute monsters. It's a very peaceful film that pulls you in a just makes you want to smile. These are the kind of films that you must watch when you are feeling down. It's very uplifting. I highly recommend seeing this one.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mercury Plains review

Posted : 1 month, 2 weeks ago on 3 June 2017 01:56 (A review of Mercury Plains)

I came across this one on Netflix and the premise caught my attention. It also had some cast members who aren't too shabby like Scott Eastwood and Nick Chinlund. This is the first I have seen or heard of from Charles Burmeister. It's a pretty basic telling of what could have been a more interesting story. The concept really is unique. The characters are interesting enough and how they deal with things. There are a few moments that didn't go as expected which is good. In the end though it's a pretty forgettable film. Still a one time watch won't be the worst thing you do.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children review

Posted : 1 month, 2 weeks ago on 3 June 2017 12:27 (A review of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children)

Pros:
*It's Tim Burton doing what he does best with a story that hasn't been put on screen before.
*Samuel L. Jackson is in it.
*Eva Green is always a plus.
*There are some interesting characteristics and abilities of characters.
*The story is interesting and fun.
*The acting is excellent from everyone although Samuel L. Jackson has a silly role.

Cons:
* It can be a little corny at times as it's sort of directed towards kids.
*Not enough Eva Green or Samuel L. Jackson in my opinion.

Notes:
*It reminds me of a love child of X-Men, Harry Potter, and Percy Jackson.
*Jane Goldman wrote two of the X-Men movies so it makes sense that it is similar.
*It's based off a book of the same name written by Ransom Riggs.

I think it's a really fun story. I consider that it might be a huge guilty pleasure for me. Anyways I do think it's worth at least checking out once. You may find yourself enjoying it more than you thought.


1 comments, Reply to this entry

Win It All review

Posted : 1 month, 2 weeks ago on 3 June 2017 12:18 (A review of Win It All)

Pros:
*Jake Johnson is usually fun to watch.
*It's simple and yet interesting enough.
*Keegan Michael Key is in it.
*It does try to make itself a little different than you would expect.

Cons:
*Some things feel slightly misplaced here.
*It's a little too simple for itself.

Notes:
*It's a quick and cute movie that's quite simplistic.
*This is the second time Jake Johnson has written his own movie.
*It's the third movie I have seen directed by Joe Swanberg, but it's only the second he also wrote.

It's not great or anything, but it's a decent watch to pass the time with especially for Jake Johnson fans.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Like Cotton Twines review

Posted : 1 month, 3 weeks ago on 2 June 2017 02:58 (A review of Like Cotton Twines)

Pros:
*Ophelia Klenam Dzidzornu as Tuigi
*Yvonne Okoro
*The main character is very likable.
*The story is very well done.
*The characters are interesting.

Cons:
*It's really bittersweet.
*The story is quite realistic.

Notes:
*This is the first I've seen from Leila Djansi.
*I look forward to more from her.

It's definitely worth checking out. Thanks to Netflix for it having these hidden gems.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Fifty Shades Darker review

Posted : 1 month, 3 weeks ago on 2 June 2017 02:45 (A review of Fifty Shades Darker)

Initial Thought: Yes I am watching this. Yes the first one was pretty awful. I just have a glutton for punishment. Oh my I didn't mean for that to come out like that. Well it's out there now. The addition of Kim Basinger is certainly a plus in my book. Can it be worse or better?

Characters/Acting: Anastasia is still such a nonsense character. Her decisions make no sense and everything she says she ignores herself. Dakota Johnson though has this girl next door attractiveness about her though which I do admire. Christian Grey is still uber creepy, but it does seem Jamie Dornan is trying this time for some reason. Eric Johnson is still the crybaby Whitney from Smallville after all this time. Rita Ora and Maxt Martini need more screentime please. Jose just keeps getting creepier so I don't understand how he is a friend. Kim Basinger in my opinion can still keep my attention. Will be curious how she is dealt with in the third and hopefully final part.

Story: Um Twilight again without the glitter vampires and replaced with Sadomasochism with a guy who needs serious help. It kind of reminds of the sad bit I hear when women don't want to leave their abusive lover due to how he treats her when he is in a good mood or something like that. It's just the first one again with no real difference other than adding a few new crazy characters. They try to put in some drama near the end that really has no effect. In fact it could have been better had they ended it without that resolution.

Directing/Writing: E.L. James has to be the luckiest fan fiction writer there is. To have her stories become wide sellers and become movies is insane. I give her props for that, but they are just as awful if not worse than Twilight themselves. James Foley is known for directing Fear and Perfect Stranger which actually fit well along with this. They both dealt with psychopaths and infatuation or "love". It's too bad because those were awesome and this just isn't. I don't blame Foley for that as he does have talent. This is the first movie written by Niall Leonard who will be writing the next one as well. Here's to hoping they can do something interesting with it.

Final Thoughts: Yeah I knew it would be bad. Still Dakota Johnson is cute enough to keep my attention and I like Kim Basinger a lot. So I guess it could have been much worse. Surprisingly it's not awful, but I still don't understand why some actually like these. In my opinion this shouldn't exist, but hey it gives people like me hope if I were to actually finish something. It's worth only a skip unless you are into this sort of thing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tank 432 review

Posted : 1 month, 3 weeks ago on 2 June 2017 02:24 (A review of Tank 432)

Initial Thought: I knew nothing going into this one. The premise is what caught my attention as I scrolled through Netflix. Plus it had a few names I was familiar with. I decided to give it a shot and see what's what.

Characters/Acting: I thought everyone did a decent enough job here. Nothing quite amazing, but nothing negative to say about them either.

Story: I don't even know where to begin here. It's something strange and different. Nothing is ever truly explained and pretty much only hinted at. That's the most frustrating bit. The concept of what they are trying to do is a good idea, but wow is it so poorly executed. It's not what I was expecting at all. The ending did nothing for me.

Directing/Writing: I have never heard of Nick Gillespie before this. I'm not sure I will be looking out for him after this either. His script is so incoherent. Better luck next time I guess.

Final Thoughts: The concept from the hints is unique. The only thing is we really get no why or anything like that. We just get what the characters get which is absolutely nothing. The acting is fine enough, but with a plot so messy it takes away what could have been a nice new watch. I would have to say skip this one.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 5 6 7 » 17 » 111 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block