Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (1061) - TV Shows (24)

Why Him? review

Posted : 6 hours, 57 minutes ago on 30 April 2017 02:07 (A review of Why Him?)

Neutral Notes:
*I was curious about this one mostly because I typically take Bryan Cranston seriously and I wanted to see how he did comedy.
*Mind you I have honestly never really watched Malcolm in the Middle.
*This type of humor would be vastly different as well.
*I chose to check this out because my wife's friend suggested it to her and she had been asking me about it several times.
*Otherwise I'm not sure when I would have watched it.
*The fact that this is written and directed by John Hamburg who wrote for Meet the Parents films makes complete sense.
*It's pretty much the same type of humor and the scenario is almost the same.
*This is the second film written by Ian Helfer.
*Jonah Hill also came up with the story which I'm not completely surprised by due to him and James Franco being part of the same comedy team.
*Let's see how this goes.

Positive Notes:
*It's actually pretty darn funny.
*Walter White is still alive and here is the proof lol.
*Bryan Cranston in general.
*Keegan Michael Key was amusing.
*Zoey Deutch of course.
*There are some pretty great cameos and unexpected roles.
*It doesn't go all cliche where typical movies do.
*The language and raunchiness of the movie actually applies to the story.

Negative Notes:
*Some of the jokes are a little immature.
*Zoey Deutch once again didn't seem to get utilized quite as much as everyone else even the brother seemed to have more involvement in the story.

Yes this is another inappropriate comedy, but it actually makes sense within the story. It also manages to make you laugh quite a bit. Maybe it's due to awkwardness or the fact it's actually funny. Anyways I think it's worth a watch to get a decent laugh in your day.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Bronx Bull review

Posted : 1 day, 4 hours ago on 29 April 2017 04:17 (A review of The Bronx Bull)

Neutral Notes:
*This can't be that bad right?
*It's about boxing right?
*William Forsythe plays the lead and he is a decent actor usually.
*There are some pretty good casting decision although there are some bad ones as well.
*I have only heard of one other film from director Martin Guigui called Beneath the Darkness which I had wanted to see at some point.
*I have heard of some of Rustam Branaman's writing credits, but I have yet to see them.
*Will this be any good?

Positive Notes:
*Most of the acting is pretty good specifically from Forsythe.
*At least he had good taste in women.
*I found it amusing his daughter was played by his real daughter.
*It's on Netflix so it's free.

*Oh and Juliet Landau!


Negative Notes:
*It was more about his several love interests than his boxing career.
*in fact we only see glimpses of flashback of a real boxing fight that never really does anything.
*There are a couple of bare knuckle fights in the beginning and a few quick moments here and there, but there are no actual boxing matches which was annoying.
*The fight scenes we do get are kind of uneventful.
*Tom Sizemore was awful.
*The ending was pretty lame.
*We get one fact at the end of the movie that feels pretty comical.

It's more of a story of an old boxer as he goes through his love life. It doesn't even deal with it in an entertaining way either. So I would suggest skipping on this one. It's just not worth the time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Rings review

Posted : 1 day, 5 hours ago on 29 April 2017 03:38 (A review of Rings)

Neutral Notes:
*I was pretty excited about this one because I was hoping they would do a good main story for once.
*With Vincent D'Onofrio and Johnny Galecki in the cast it seemed fairly promising.
*I haven't seen any other film from director F. Javier Gutierrez.
*David Loucka also wrote House at the End of the Street and Dream House both of which I honestly enjoyed.
*Jacob Aaron Estes also wrote The Details and Mean Creek which were both also pretty good.
*Now Akiva Goldsman is one of those writers who is either average or pretty entertaining.
*Let's hope for the latter here.
*Matilda Anna Ingrid Lutz looks like the love child of Lyndsy Fonseca and Odette Annable.
*You may recognize Alex Roe from The Fifth Wave.

Positive Notes:
*It actually manages to give a nice, neat, and new idea to the storyline.
*It manages to be pretty creepy at times.
*The acting is pretty good.
*The opening had me hooked with some well known faces and a haunting atmosphere.
*I also really enjoyed the ending and I'm curious where this can go from there.

Negative Notes:
*There were moments where it felt like Final Destination which I was not impressed with.
*I was a little bit annoyed with the backstory for Samara.
*It's still not better than the short that was between part 1 and 2 of the series also called Rings.
*How the professor came up with his theory isn't really looked into.
*It should have been much better.

So honestly I did like it albeit being kind of average. It's not the worst of the series. It has some good ideas and really changes the game in a good way. If you enjoy the series you may like this one. It could be a hit or miss.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

What We Do in the Shadows review

Posted : 1 day, 5 hours ago on 29 April 2017 03:13 (A review of What We Do in the Shadows)

I cannot review this as I don't remember what happened while watching this. Nah I'm just kidding, but you will get that joke if you watch this or have seen it.

Neutral Notes:
*This is Jemaine Clement's directorial debut, but he also wrote another film.
*As for Taika Waititi this isn't his first rodeo as he has several films including the upcoming Thor: Ragnarok.
*There aren't too many huge stars here, but if you know Flight of the Conchords you will recognize people here and there.
*I meant to see this when it came out, but I just never made the time.
*Thank goodness for Amazon and the ability to download to your phone nowadays.

Positive Notes:
*The acting was excellent.
*I loved the characters and how the different generations all acted with each other.
*This was truly hilarious if you like the type of humor.
*The mockumentary style added a nice touch of sillyness to the whole thing.
*I liked that there were a lot of people who went by their real names.
*It was a lot bloodier than I was expecting, but for me that's a good thing.
*Seeing vampires dealing with everyday issues is a pretty fun concept.
*I really enjoyed the ending and the movie as a whole.

Negative Notes:
*I would have liked more involvement from Petyr.

This was definitely worth checking out. It's funny and different. It will keep your attention for sure. I highly suggest seeing this whenever possible.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Bigger Fatter Liar review

Posted : 1 day, 6 hours ago on 29 April 2017 03:03 (A review of Bigger Fatter Liar)

I really put my brain through a blender when I decided to check this out. I saw ads for it on Facebook that had me infuriated. They looked absolutely dreadful and stupid. I absolutely loved the first one from when Frankie Muniz and Amanda Bynes were still awesome. This one looks like a sequel, but comes off as more of an exact replica remake. Nobody asked for either of these things to happen. I mean maybe if they had got the original stars we could talk. The only reason I decided to check it out at all is because I kind of have a crush on Jodelle Ferland. I typically like Ron Oliver as he has worked on several shows I loved through the years. So I don't know what in the hell happened to him to take this on. David H. Steinberg wrote a couple American Pie sequels and Puss in Boots all of which I liked. So I can't for the love of God figure out why or what happened.

The original one is already pretty modern, but they decided to update the story a little bit. A lot of the pranks are the same although of course slightly altered. The situations and people they meet are taken straight from the original. They changed characters names, but this was only very slightly. It was so uncharismatic though. It lacked the fun of the original. I don't know what everyone was thinking when they decided to make this.

Don't subject your kids to this torture! Watch the original instead as it is by far superior. I am very thankful that this was on Netflix and I didn't waste any money on it. I'm just sorry I wasted my time. That's what I do though. I waste my time so you don't have to. Do yourself a favor and pretend this doesn't exist.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Desierto review

Posted : 1 day, 6 hours ago on 29 April 2017 02:51 (A review of Desierto)

This is another of those films I really wanted to see, but never got around to checking out. Gael Garcia Bernal and Jeffrey Dean Morgan are some truly excellent actors. Plus we all know Jeffrey Dean Morgan can play villains quite well. This was directed by Alfonso Cuaron's son Jonas Cuaron who also wrote Gravity. The writer here though is a first timer by the name of Mateo Garcia.

That was pretty intense and brutal. The first half goes by pretty quickly until the later half where it starts to become pretty cat and mouse. There are some disturbing moments. I always feel so bad for the dogs as they were only trained to be monsters. The way the one here gets killed was pretty hard to see. I swear it feels like this kind of thing happens and the way things are now I can only imagine it being even worse. The acting was as excellent as I thought it would be. I liked the unknown female lead played by Alondra Hidalgo. The backstory for the lead gave some compassion and sympathy for the character. The ending was a little disappointing, but it made sense for the story.

This was about as good as I had expected it to be. It can be a bit brutal and hard to watch for some though. The acting was really good and the story itself makes sense. It will definitely hold your attention. Once things start you wonder how it all will finish. I would say it's worth checking out.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Edge of Seventeen review

Posted : 1 day, 6 hours ago on 29 April 2017 02:41 (A review of The Edge of Seventeen)

I really wanted to see this while it was in theaters, but I just never got around to it. I really adore Hailee Steinfeld in pretty much anything. Anyways I finally took my chance to check it out. This is the directorial debut for Kelly Fremon Craig who has written a few other films. Let's see if this was worth wanting to check out.

This was excellent! I loved Hailee Steinfeld as per usual. She is too cute even when she is describing some pretty raunchy behavior. I'm starting to see an appeal in Haley Lu Richardson these days. Plus she is a pretty decent actress. Once again Blake Jenner really proves his acting chops here. He has one of the best moments of the movie for sure. Woody Harrelson was the scene stealer though! Every moment with him I was amused. I also really liked relatively unknown Hayden Szeto who was just great. It's crazy to think he is in his 30s. This was a very realistic type of story that was dealt with nicely. I really enjoyed the ending and as a whole the movie.

This was such a good movie. It was funny and had good drama. The acting was excellent and the characters were quite likable. I would even say they were pretty relatable. It was definitely worth checking it out and would advise others to check it out as well.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Most Hated Woman in America review

Posted : 1 day, 6 hours ago on 29 April 2017 02:29 (A review of The Most Hated Woman in America)

Honestly I didn't know anything about this story or even that it was going to come on Netflix until it did. The cast is what really pulled my attention toward this with Melissa Leo and Juno Temple. Plus the story sounded pretty interesting. Tommy O'Haver also directed Ella Enchanted and Get Over It which were both okay. This is Irene Turner's second film over all and her other was another film directed by Tommy O'Haver.

This was certainly an interesting movie, but it wasn't the greatest. The acting was pretty damn good though. Melissa Leo really pulled off this role which was different than what I normally see of her. I don't think that we were given a full enough picture of things. The story was a little bit out of whack with jumping back and forth. It was pretty amusing, but when it went dark it was pretty dark. I wasn't sure what would happen over the course of the movie which made it a more interesting than if I knew beforehand.

I think it's worth at least one watch though. The story is intriguing and the acting gives it a nice edge. It could have been better, but it still kept my interest.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Kevin Hart: What Now? review

Posted : 1 day, 6 hours ago on 29 April 2017 02:13 (A review of Kevin Hart: What Now?)

I absolutely love Kevin Hart comedy. I don't care what anyone says I think he is pretty funny. The movies aren't always a hit though. His stand up of course is the best of his work. Also there are some pretty neat guest stars for this one. Tim Story has directed a lot of things including other Kevin Hart movies like Let Me Explain (another stand up) and Ride Along. Leslie Small is another director known for Kevin Hart's stand up films. Kevin Hart of course writes his own stuff here. He is also assisted by Joey Wells and Harry Ratchford who have worked on his other work as well. This is the first film written by DC comics writer Brian Buccellato who tackles the casino scene.

There isn't a lot that needs to be said about this one. The material and jokes are funny. The casino stuff was pretty hilarious. If I put Halle Berry in my movie I would do the same thing lol. If you enjoy Kevin Hart this is definitely worth a look.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mulholland Drive review

Posted : 2 days, 4 hours ago on 28 April 2017 04:07 (A review of Mulholland Drive)

Ah Mulholland Drive. This is one of those movies you hear about all the time and you get more and more curious. You always hear about the Hobo or see pictures and such. This is honestly only my second venture into the film world of David Lynch. I hear it's one heck of a weird one too. At least it has some great cast choices. So let's see what all the fuss is about.

Holy hell that really was a trip. You have to really focus and pay attention to the details. It's not really explained as much as it is implied what is going on. How is everything connected and why? What is really going on? What happened with these people? Some things go unanswered or simply drift out of the story. It's a highly psychological and strange film. You really have to think outside of the box here. The acting is excellent and I loved the chemistry between Naomi Watts and Laura Harring. Plus come on those moments between them are definitely worth admiring. I didn't realize the hobo was supposed to be a man until I actually watched this! Honestly though I didn't think this was greatness. I thought there were a few plotholes that kind of sunk it down for me. I mean I'm sure it doesn't all need to make sense. It's definitely a very interesting film and I see why it's always talked about.

This is a movie for the thinking person and not simply for just entertainment. In that sense it was good, but it really isn't my cup of tea. There are thinking movies I love, but this just wasn't one of them. I did find it to be an interesting watch though. I just wanted something that was a bit different. If you are curious about checking this one out only do so if you have time to really focus. Otherwise you will not be satisfied with this film.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 5 6 7 » 17 » 109 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block