Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (1083) - TV Shows (24)

Homefront review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 25 February 2014 06:17 (A review of Homefront)

I am a sucker for Jason Statham movies. I also enjoy seeing James Franco's films as well. This has both of them! It is also nice to see Winona Ryder finally joining back into Hollywood again. Where has she been all this time. Kate Bosworth, Clancy Brown, Frank Grillo, and Rachelle Lafevre are also in this. This was apparently written by Sylvester Stallone! What? I didn't know that until I started writing this review. Anyways I thought it was a nice spin on James Franco's acting as he usually plays best friends or good guys. I thought the little girl was a pretty good actress for her first big screen movie. There wasn't a whole lot of plot to this, but it does keep you interested with some cool fight scenes and decent acting. If you are a Jason Statham junkie check it out. You won't be disappointed.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gravity review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 25 February 2014 06:10 (A review of Gravity)

This is directed by one of Hollywood's well known directors Alfonso Cuaron. It has a really small cast which includes Sandra Bullock, George Clooney, and the voice of Ed Harris. I didn't even know Ed Harris was in it until I saw the credits when the movie was over! It is hard to pull off a good movie with a small cast these days with everyone seeming to want loads of action or an amazing plot with good twists. This movie didn't need twists or loads of action to be interesting. The acting was good and there was a good amount of tension built up in it. Are they going to make it or aren't they? The only thing I felt was a problem was that this was a bit short although there isn't much you can do when it comes to a realistic space movie. Anyhow you should definitely check this out.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Frozen (2013) review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 25 February 2014 06:02 (A review of Frozen (2013))

Disney is really good at making excellent movies about princesses, but this one actually brings something new to the table. The characters are really interest especially good old Olaf who really steals the show in this as played by Josh Gad. Also the cast itself is pretty remarkable as well and includes Kristen Bell, Idina Menzel, Jonathan Groff, Alan Tudyk, and Santino Fontana. The music was fun, enjoyable, and probably one of the best of Disney Movies' soundtracks. In my opinion this is probably one of the best movies Disney has made in a long time. It even has an amazing twist that I really don't think many people would have expected. I think if Walt Disney were around he would have been quite pleased with how this turned out. I recommend this to people of all ages. Support Frozen!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Collision review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 25 February 2014 05:55 (A review of Collision)

Frank Grillo, Jaimie Alexander, and Roschdy Zem are amazing in this thriller joyride full of twists and turns. The characters were interesting and well rounded. The story was different and not some rehashed bullshit that has been coming out lately. The acting is well done. You should really check this out if you want to watch a good thriller that keeps you guessing until the end.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ninja II: Shadow of a Tear review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 25 February 2014 05:45 (A review of Ninja II: Shadow of a Tear)

So Ninja II has Scott Adkins return as Casey from the previous film as well as Mika Hijii. The villain in this is actually pretty interesting and the fight scenes are bad ass as expected from Scott Adkins. The twist is pretty unexpected too. I enjoyed this as a casual one time watch popcorn flick. Don't go into this expecting a masterpiece and you should be fine.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

InAPPropriate Comedy review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 25 February 2014 12:16 (A review of InAPPropriate Comedy)

Never ever ever watch this! I warn you! This is so bad and not so bad it's good. It is just awful! AVOID!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Old Boy (2013) review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 25 February 2014 12:14 (A review of Old Boy (2013))

I have been curious about this American remake of the original Oldboy for awhile. I hear bad reviews about it, but mostly that is from people who have seen the original. I have seen the original as well, but I am going to watch this as if it is the only version I have seen. Plus it has a great cast consisting of Josh Brolin, Elisabeth Olsen, Samuel L. Jackson, Sharlto Copley, Michael Imperioli, James Ransone, Rami Malek, and Lance Reddick. I really didn't like any of the characters in this one and you really don't feel bad for the "hero" or the "villain" as they are all really messed up and disgusting people. The acting is alright. It was pretty boring though and not much happens. There are a few decent fight scenes. There are scenes that pay homage to the original, but for the most part it is just it's own movie albeit not a very good one. The flashback scene was more funny and creepy than tragic. The twist was altered, but pretty much the same as the original. I would say skip this one and just watch the original.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

V/H/S/2 (2013) review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 25 February 2014 12:03 (A review of V/H/S/2 (2013))

Searching for a missing student, two private investigators break into his house and find collection of VHS tapes. Viewing the horrific contents of each cassette, they realize there may be dark motives behind the student's disappearance.

I have been wanting to see this since I saw the rumors that it would come out! Thank goodness for video on demand! This has one less video than the previous movie. There are only a few familiar faces in the cast including Mindy Robinson and Adam Wingard. Eduardo Sanchez (Blair Witch Project), Adam Wingard (You're Next), Gareth Evans (The Raid: Redemption), Jason Eisener (Hobo with a Shotgun), Timo Tjahjanto (Macabre), and Simon Barrett (You're Next) are some of the more well known directors involved with this one.

Tape 49 directed by Simon Barrett
It starts out interesting with a man video taping a man and woman about to have sex. You find out the man is actually a private investigator. Him and his partner quickly get another case to find a missing guy where they end up finding the tapes. Of course as we get further into the tapes the wraparound segment gets spookier. The end was off the wall and odd, but it was still pretty interesting. 6/10

Clinical Trials directed by Adam Wingard
Well this is an interesting and fun sounding concept. I like how you can see him blanking as opposed to them making it so he unrealistically never blinks. It reminds me a lot of The Eye movies, but just with the eye being a camera. There are some pretty creepy moments that really catch you off guard. The ending was pretty crazy and unexpected. 8/10

A Ride in the Park directed by Eduardo Sanchez and Gregg Hale
I love zombies and this short does them justice. It is fun, has some good twists, and brings something new to the zombie genre. It is a thrill ride in my opinion. I loved the ending to this segment. 8/10

Safe Haven directed by Timo Tjahjanto
I am hearing a lot about this segment and that it is the best of the bunch here. It starts off slower than the rest as it is the longest and allows us to get to know the characters pretty well. There are some interesting twists and turns in this one. When the shit hits the fan it doesn't let down. It is crazy brutal and just pure insanity! That ending! 9/10

Alien Abduction Slumber Party directed by Jason Eisener
It wasn't the craziest or best of the bunch, but it was still fun and entertaining. This one went by too quickly in my opinion. It was more funny than scary also. Although I thought the ending was pretty sad. 7/10

This sequel most of the stories actually made sense and didn't make you guess at what is going on which I felt was an improvement. As an average of all the segments together this is an 8/10. Almost as good as the first one in my opinion. Check it out!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Out of the Furnace review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 24 February 2014 11:15 (A review of Out of the Furnace)

Out of the Furnace was a pretty interesting movie about revenge. The acting was good. The characters were interesting. The cast was excellent and full of power with Christian Bale, Woody Harrelson, Casey Affleck, Zoe Saldana, Willem Dafoe, Forest Whitaker, and Sam Shepard. I like these sort of gritty movies where things don't always go right for everybody even after the problem is solved. Worth a watch especially if you like Woody Harrelson or Christian Bale. Also I liked that there was kind of an interracial couple.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blue Is The Warmest Color review

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 24 February 2014 11:07 (A review of Blue Is The Warmest Color)

So I have been hearing many mixed reviews about this so I decided to check it out for myself. Also for the obvious reason of me being a male lol. I hate the way the main girl eats with her mouth open in every seen where she is eating, just gross (in my opinion). The acting is pretty good and feels real. Adele is average looking in my opinion, but she gives off this glow that makes her beautiful. The sex scenes are a bit over the top, but still enjoyable to watch (Yeah I said it, so what.) All in all it was pretty good although I didn't really care for the ending that much.


0 comments, Reply to this entry